h1

Definitions

January 23, 2010

It might be helpful to more clearly define some of the terms I use in my blog, or at least my definition of these terms. Such as:

Technology: This is such a broad that can be applied to so many things.  I think the best definition I found for it has to do with the use of scientific knowledge to solve practical problems AND the specific methods and devices used to solve those problems. So although most of today’s society tend to apply this word to modern technologies such as computers, IPODs, big screen HDTV’s and BlueRay players, I try to remember that it can also include my toothbrush and indoor plumbing. I try to remember that technology doesn’t necessarily need a plug.

Media: To me, the methods used to spread the news to large numbers of people. These include TV, radio, newspapers, magazines, the internet, etc. In fact, there are so many means by which we are “connected” to the media that one needs to really pick and choose which venues he or she can rely on for their information. Today, 24/7 cable news networks seem to have made the 6pm network news programs obsolete. Internet news sites offer instant updates of every type that make waiting for the morning newspaper a thing of the past. Blogs bring a welcome personal touch and interpretation to the news. Heck, we even get instant updates on our cell phones from newsmakers so we don’t even have to wait until we get home to be on top of what’s going on anymore.

Information: Simply put, the knowledge gained by tuning into the media. Unfortunately, I feel there’s so much “information” being generated every day, all day long, that we really need to develop filters and the ability to weed out what is important versus what is meaningless. If we don’t I think our brains are going to explode.

Communications: Although the media is a form of communication, it’s a pretty one way street. So I think the term “communication” broadens things to the “exchange” of thoughts, ideas, and information. This can be done verbally, in writing…even with body language. I fear that those old-fashioned means of communication, ie writing a letter, having a phone conversation, even having a nice chat over a cup of coffee…have been replaced with texting, emails, heck, even online college courses.

Science: For me, is what I count on to tell me why things are what they are…how something works…the explanation of phenomena. It’s something we take for granted when using the things we use in our day to day lives. In 2000 years, I suppose it would be easy to believe that we’ve learned everything there is to learn and understand everything there is to understand. Not even close. I think we’ve just scratched the surface in regards to our knowledge of the human body, the earth, space, weather, energy, even religion.

Art: To me, art is the ability to arrange colors, sounds, movements in a way that tells the artist’s story and brings pleasure to those who view/hear it. But needless to say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. When I combine the terms technology and art I always think of today’s artists (musicians, singers, writers, film makers, etc.) who can now reach a worldwide audience while simultaneously having to concern themselves with not getting ripped off.

Culture: Those traits, beliefs, behaviors and methods that make a certain people unique. As an Italian America, for me it means Sunday dinners that last all day, Midnight Mass, an appreciation for great artists like Michaelangelo and DaVinci, a strong work ethic, close (and large)  families and the greaetst food EVER!

2 comments

  1. Denise, I agree with your thoughts on communications. Human interaction is a dying a form of communication. As much as I love technology I hope we never see the day when all we do is talk to a screen as opposed to an actual person. Future generations might lack the people skills that are an important part of living in a (digital?) society.


  2. I agree with what you said about technology. It really is hard to remember that it doesn’t always have to have a plug or be electronic because that’s usually the first thing to come to mind.



Leave a Reply

